Social Media… A Waste of Time? Or Not?

To be entirely honest I’m not really a huge fan of social media to begin with. Sure, I have a Facebook, a twitter, an Instagram, and so on just like many college students. But when it really comes down to it I hardly ever use these platforms and I personally don’t think my life would be that much worse without them….

THAT BEING SAID…..

I do believe that this week we discussed some very key topics regarding social media that really were completely spot on. I liked how we referred to our outlets of social media as virtual communities within this vast chaotic network known as the internet. And it is within these communities that we, the individuals who sign up as well as consent to join these “communities”, have the ability to create our own virtual personalities/realities, we have the ability to organize around a cause, we can communicate with one another, and so on and so on. 

Now this comes with some pros and cons of course. What’s great is that we can “friend” or “follow” almost anyone and everyone we have ever met so that if we EVER have any reason at all to contact them they are simply a few clicks and punches into the keyboard away. What is also very convenient is that you have the ability to control your privacy settings, and as we said in class, act as your own “gatekeeper” for what you put out there, who sees it, and whose information you see. The final thing I think is great about social media is how it has the ability to rally people behind a cause that can trend and thousands upon thousands of people can pick up on. For example, the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Social media has the potential, if done right, to organize people to do good; as shown by this example. Something like this wouldn’t be possible without the internet, imagine someone trying to start this within a community by word of mouth; let’s just say I doubt it would make it out of town. So looking at social media through this lens I guess it actually kind isn’t that bad.

HOWEVER,

My big problem with social media that I struggle to get over is that people abuse this tool that has been given to them and go too far with it. In my opinion, some people have the tendency to share the most pointless things that really make you not even want to go on. For example, taking a selfie just because its Monday, or, pulled directly from my Facebook right now, a shared article titled “17 Things You Should Know Before You Date an Athletic Girl”, or even Facebook game requests (seriously if you want to play a game you’re going to look to Facebook?). I don’t entirely know where I’m going with this, but I saw this as a phenomenal opportunity to express me distaste for many aspects of social media. However, I will say through our discussion I have gained a greater understanding of the potential that social media has; it’s just sad how this tool is so poorly abused by so many people.

Until next time.

– Kyle

Leave a comment